Let’s Get this Straight

As I do more and more writing for work and otherwise, I’ve been thinking more of myself as a writer. When I was in the 4th grade, the book I wrote (A Rhinoceros Stole My Fender, I am pretty sure was it’s name) for the Young Author’s program won some contest and was published in a spiral bound anthology of kids writings. Then sometime in middle school, I got second place in a patriotic poetry contest. All I remember is that I wrote the piece the morning it was due from the first person perspective of an American flag.

But the book I am most proud of so far is undoubtedly the recently released Let’s Get This Straight: The Ultimate Handbook for Youth with LGBTQ Parents. I am honored to have worked with the editing and production of this unique and needed resource with the amazing Tina Fakhrid-Deen. There are thousands, even more likely millions, of kids in this country alone who have one or more lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or queer parent. And now there is finally a book just for them!

Over the years, there have been growing numbers of pretty great picture and early-reader books with LGBTQ families. And Abigail Garner‘s Families Like Mine artfully tackled the issue from the perspective of us adults with LGBTQ parents. Until now, however, there was a huge gap right in the middle for youth audiences.

The book is a compilation of stories of youth and young adults with LGBTQ parents and Tina made it more fun by including fun facts, surveys, journal exercises and more. It talks directly to youth in an accessible but cool language that Tina has such a beautiful knack for.

Not only is the book a must-read for youth queerspawn; but I think parents, perspective parents, teachers, therapists, and basically anyone who works with or cares about kids of LGBTQ parents will get a lot from Let’s Get This Straight.

I hope you’ll pick it up from your local, independent bookstore. But you can also buy it online from Amazon or a host of other e-sellers.

Run, don’t walk, to check it out!

 

 

About fairymere

Radical, Foodie, Performer, Activist, Reader, Jew, Fairy, Muppet, Aspiring Gardener, Appreciator of Sparkly things
This entry was posted in LGBTQ, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let’s Get this Straight

  1. Meredith, without you, this book would not be published right now. You were the wheels on the bicycle and I thank you TREMENDOUSLY for all of your hard work and dedication to this book that is on-going. We did it and I hope that in doing so, we accomplish our goal – to educate, connect and empower youth with LGBTQ parents. I love you!

  2. fairymere says:

    Love you too! Let’s make a phone date- I’d love to hear about Seals promotion plans and see about planning a Bay Area event!

  3. Rae says:

    “first person perspective of an American flag” sounds like the patriotic poem for which I too won an award in elementary school. WTF?? Also–your book rools!

Leave a Reply

