Things I Ate in Europe Part 3

Now we go to Paris.

Our book recommended a seafood place right by our Inn so we scored ourselves a table to fuel up before our night time bus tour of the city. (This is one of those touristy things Ains talks me into and then ends up being quite rad.) We stared with this pizzette thing- not very photogenic- but pretty awesome.

For our mains, I got some dish with Squid Ink pasta because I was feeling adventurous and what spells adventure more than Squid Ink? I’m pretty sure it was Cod on top.

Ains decided, despite being at a seafood place that he needed a little dose of chicken. It more or less rocked his world.

All the cafes in our neighborhood has outdoor tables.

I decided the next day that I had to have French Onion soup whilst in France. I knew the stock was probably filled with Vache-ful stock but I didn’t care.

Still on an adventurous kick, I ordered mussels for dinner. I’ve actually had them before, but usually shared so that you just have a few. But when the meal was delivered- a huge cauldron was set before me.

The French fries aren’t better in France but I did some damage working my way through this one.

In the meantime, Ainsley had become slightly obsessed with Croque Monsieurs and continued to order them at every chance.

The next morning we had an omelette. Sure it looks like a pretty standard omelette. And it was. But we ate it with a perfect view of the Eiffel Tour and chatted with a textile-designer from NYC during the meal so it seemed kind of special.

That afternoon found us at Laduree- the Motherland of all French Pastry shops. I managed one shot before being scolded for taking a photo inside:

Decision making was difficult. But we left with a sugary doughy thing:

An incredible cupcake:

And French Macaroons:

Which were so incredible, that after gushing and tearing for a second, I immediately re-entered the Pastry Shop as Ains laughed at me to load up on more macaroons which we managed to get all the way home with only minor damage. The explosion of flavor in each of these macaroons makes the “flavor explosions” that gum commercials talk about seem like the biggest crock of merde ever.

We had eaten cheese and had picnics, but I wanted to have a picnic of cheese by the River. I managed to find this Brie that Cara had researched and told me to get as well as some other goodies.

The next morning I got artsy with breakfast. We each had a bowl of latte magic. Ains had croissaints with jam and butter.

They were light and fluffy. We discussed the potential explanations for the extreme superiority of the bread in France at length.

My meal was an egg poached inside of a piece of Briochre:

Ains is showing off the gelato from this famous gelato place. You get to pick two flavors and they make them look like…. a flower.

Being it was our last night in Paris, I decided to bite the bullet and get escargot. I figure they are kind of like fish… right?

Mostly they taste like a little woodsy mushroom with a metric buttload of garlicky sauce on top.

I also had to get one last cheese plate. This plate was THE CHEESEPLATE THAT ALMOST KILLED ME. It was SOOOO much food. But it was my. last. cheese. in. France. gasp! and I really could not stop myself.

Ains watched me and laughed while eating his last Croque. Before bed he got his second gelato of the day.


The next day we flew through London and had to eat this:

It was painfully clear that we weren’t in France anymore.

The end.

About fairymere

Radical, Foodie, Performer, Activist, Reader, Jew, Fairy, Muppet, Aspiring Gardener, Appreciator of Sparkly things
This entry was posted in Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I Ate in Europe Part 3

  1. Rae says:

    wow!!!! This blog is amazing and I cannot believe you did not tell me it existed until your THIRD INSTALLMENT. My, my, how far I have fallen. Anyway: oui oui oui to mussels (my standard entree here in Indiana, as for some reason they are served–well–at every restaurant), to croque monsieur (just got back from Montreal, where I could.not.stop.eating.them), to cheese plates that nearly kill (we had the “Cadillac of Blue Cheese,” a Quebecois number that cost over $80 a kilo), and to gelato two times daily. Also–love the shot of the English fare. Looks just like the books on which I make a living. Miss you! Love this!!

  2. fairymere says:

    don’t take it personally. i started this more as a writing exercise for myself then as a well-advertised thing. I didnt even tell Ains until i looped you and cara in so please dont take that personally.

    it is pretty funny how UNappetizing the english plate looks after all the amazingness. it was very symbolic of our trip ending…

  3. Cara Dellaquila says:

    Yay for embracing the stock du vache! Was it worth it?

    A few questions:
    Was the brioche egg basket nestled a top a lattice of cheddar? Interesante.

    Is the cupcake purple? Is it covered in fondant? It looks like the most interesting texture.

    How was that brie?????

    And finally, how have gelato flowers not caught on in the US? Million dollar idea?

  4. fairymere says:

    @ Cara Great questions.
    1. It was indeed a latice. Not sure it was cheddar.
    2. Yes its purple. It was lilac? Lavendar? crap i cant remember which. this thing was the best cupcake i have ever had. inside it was filled with blueberry burst of goodness . the icing had a fondant like texture to it but tasted better than many fondants.
    3. the brie was good. but ains didnt like it. he found it too runny. it was quite stinky. it wasnt the best cheese i had in france. but i liked that you sent me on a hunt to find it!
    4. gelato flower truck????

Leave a Reply

