Running

As I wrote, my first big challenge for 2011 is to run a 5K at the end of March. After a few weeks of general exercise, I launched into the Couch to 5K training program. The basic format is free online, though I did download an App that allows me to get prompts for the workouts overlaid over my own playlists (Thanks Rhonda for that iTunes gift card!) And I have my first ever actual running shoes and pants. I had to take almost a week off due to a nasty cold, but am now back on track.

I find that when I tell people about this project, they tend to ask “Do you like running now?”

To be honest, I’m not yet sure. I like having some structure and a challenge to fuel my exercise. I feel pretty energetic on the days that I start my day with a run. I like trying out different circuits through my neighborhood on weekdays and exploring running tracks and running paths on the weekends. And I don’t find myself hating every moment that I am pounding the pavement.

New shoes and some recommendations from a running afficionado coworker seemed to have at least momentarily stopped my shin split issue. And I’m pretty into my running playlists: Training Pop, Training Random, and Training Broadway. But I am waiting for the moment (and we all may be waiting for a long time yet to come) when I identify as a runner or can actually answer that frequent question with a Yes.

If you haven’t yet contributed to my 5K effort, you still have time. Your donation will support Team Ella Baker Center.

About fairymere

Radical, Foodie, Performer, Activist, Reader, Jew, Fairy, Muppet, Aspiring Gardener, Appreciator of Sparkly things
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

