Rally the Troupes- Now that’s some Sparkle in Motion

I am a blogging slacker. Or at least a Sparkle Motion slacker since I actively blog for work on Ella’s Voice. Sure I can blame it on the whole buying-a-house-and-moving thing. Or I could lament the recent and ongoing flare ups of my litany of repetitive stress injuries. But no matter, I am returning to the blog to write about Rally the Troupes.

Rally the Troupes began as a vision of the Transformers, a Bay Area drag king boy band, that I used to be a part of, to bring social justice issues and an anti-oppression lens into a celebration of queer performance. I am honored to have been in all six of the previous Rally the Troupes shows and have gotten to use this unique show to explore everything from global warming to racism, grrrrl empowerment to Corporate/Politician Bedfellowship.

Too often, I have seen drag and burlesque used to reinforce misogyny or play out cultural appropriation or be just plain racist.   Some might say that I lack the fun gene that lets me see “all art as good art.” I just like to think of myself as someone who wants to use performance to imagine a world with more justice and less oppression and to inspire audiences rather than offend them.

That is part of the reason why a show like Rally the Troupes is SO meaningful to me. It is a rare place where I know I’ll take to the stage with “my people.”

This year, for the first time, Rally the Troupes is coming to Oakland. We have quite a knockout cast of characters cooking up all sorts of social-justice-inspired magic using drag burlesque, dance and multi-media. I invite you to join us. Get your tickets online now! (Or at the door but using cash only). It’s a show that will make you laugh. Turn you on. AND make you think.What could be better than that?

Here’s all the info:

Drew Montana, Kentucky Fried Woman and Starr 69 invite you Back to School for:
Rally the Troupes VII:The Revolution Will Include Glitter

Friday, September 16th, 8 pm
Mills College- Littlefield Concert Hall, 5000 MacArthur Blvd, Oakland

For the first time in its 7 year history, Rally the Troupes is coming to Oakland! Join us for an evening of inspiring and sexy queer performance.

Featuring politically savvy performances by:
Brock Cocker
Brush Arbor Gurlz
Chan Dynasty
Charleston Chu & Jai Arun Ravine
GlitterAction
House of Glitter
Keshet Crew
King McQueen
La Chica Boom
Let Me Out
Lil Miss Hot Mess
Project Monochrome
The Dangers
And More!

$15- 20 Sliding scale. Buy tickets online at http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/193980. Limited tickets available at the door.

About fairymere

Radical, Foodie, Performer, Activist, Reader, Jew, Fairy, Muppet, Aspiring Gardener, Appreciator of Sparkly things
This entry was posted in Anti-Oppression, LGBTQ, Oakland and the Bay Area, Performance, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

